Browse categories

In The Days Of Rain ! By Rebecca Stott ! Uncorrected Bound Proof ! Advance Reading Copy ! Very Rare !

In The Days Of Rain ! By Rebecca Stott ! Uncorrected Bound Proof ! Advance Reading Copy ! Very Rare !
Asking price: €12
Make an offer:
Seller:
Rocco_jr
Feedback:
2475 8
Location:
4334 more ads from this seller
Entered/Renewed:
3 weeks ago
Ad Views:
914
Viewing 1 of 11
In The Days Of Rain ! By Rebecca Stott ! Uncorrected Bound Proof ! Advance Reading Copy ! Very Rare !

Description

Title: In the Days of Rain

Author: Rebecca Stott

ISBN: 9780008209162

Publisher: Fourth Estate

Date of Publishing: 2017

First Edition: Uncorrected Bound Proof

Format: Paperback

Pages: 400


THIS IS ADVANCE READING COPY MADE (UNCORRECTED BOUND PROOF) AVAILABLE IN CONFIDENCE TO SELECTED PERSONS FOR SPECIFIC REVIEW PURPOSES. WAS NOT AVAILABLE FOR SALE. VERY RARE


In the vein of Bad Blood and Why be Happy when you can be Normal?: an enthralling, at times shocking, and deeply personal family memoir of growing up in, and breaking away from, a fundamentalist Christian cult.

‘At university when I made new friends and confidantes, I couldn’t explain how I’d become a teenage mother, or shoplifted books for years, or why I was afraid of the dark and had a compulsion to rescue people, without explaining about the Brethren or the God they made for us, and the Rapture they told us was coming. But then I couldn’t really begin to talk about the Brethren without explaining about my father…’

As Rebecca Stott’s father lay dying he begged her to help him write the memoir he had been struggling with for years. He wanted to tell the story of their family, who, for generations had all been members of a fundamentalist Christian sect. Yet, each time he reached a certain point, he became tangled in a thicket of painful memories and could not go on.

The sect were a closed community who believed the world is ruled by Satan: non-sect books were banned, women were made to wear headscarves and those who disobeyed the rules were punished.

Rebecca was born into the sect, yet, as an intelligent, inquiring child she was always asking dangerous questions. She would discover that her father, an influential preacher, had been asking them too, and that the fault-line between faith and doubt had almost engulfed him.

In In the Days of Rain Rebecca gathers the broken threads of her father’s story, and her own, and follows him into the thicket to tell of her family’s experiences within the sect, and the decades-long aftermath of their breaking away.


Condition: (please see detailed photos for your own judgment, if you need more photos or more information do not hesitate to ask!)

Book in protective sleeve


PLEASE SEE MORE UNCORRECTED MANUSCRIPTS / BOUND PROOFS / ARTIST PROOFS FOR SALE IN MY OTHER ADS:

Inquisition - Alberto Colitto - Uncorrected Bound Proof
http://www.adverts.ie/fiction/inquisition-alberto-colitto-uncorrected-bound-proof/11015283

There Is No Dog - Uncorrected Bound Proof
http://www.adverts.ie/fiction/there-is-no-dog-uncorrected-bound-proof/11650236

Undauted UNCORRECTED BOUND PROOF
http://www.adverts.ie/fiction/undauted-by-ronnie-douglas-uncorrected-proof/11642726

The Second Last Woman In England - Uncorrected Proof Copy
http://www.adverts.ie/fiction/the-second-last-woman-in-england-uncorrected-proof-copy/11639662

Boys And Girls - Joseph Conolly - Uncorrected Bound Proof
http://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/boys-and-girls-joseph-conolly-uncorrected-bound-proof/11563341

A Walk Across The Sun - Uncorrected Bound Proof
http://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/a-walk-across-the-sun-uncorrected-bound-proof/11563219

The Night In Question - Uncorrected Bound Proof
http://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/the-night-in-question-laurie-graham-uncorrected-bound-proof/11563473

Breaking Light UNCORRECTED BOUND PROOF!
http://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/breaking-light-by-karin-altenberg-uncorrected-bound-proof/11563395

Kid Gloves - A Voyage Round My Father Advanced Bound Proof
http://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/kid-gloves-a-voyage-round-my-father-advanced-bound-proof/11563272

Dreams And Shadows! Uncoreccted Manuscript Proof
http://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/very-rare-uncoreccted-manuscript-proof-dreams-and-shadow/11563496

The Colini Case - Advanced Reading Copy
http://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/the-colini-case-advanced-reading-copy-very-rare/9510679

The Other Life Uncorrected Bound Proof
http://www.adverts.ie/fiction/the-other-life-by-susanne-winnacker-uncorrected-bound-proof-very-rare/13168849?notification=f2cb330360cb458e6256f8d92385451e-1497915544

Writers' Block Uncorrected Bound Proof
https://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/writers-block-uncorrected-bound-proof-not-available-for-sale-rare-book/14382696

Then ! Uncorrected Bound Proof
https://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/then-uncorrected-bound-proof-very-rare-not-available-for-sale/14368006

When Mr. Dog Bites Uncorrected Bound Proof
https://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/when-mr-dog-bites-uncorrected-bound-proof-not-available-for-sale-rare-book/14382582

Diamond Star Holo Uncorrected Bound Proof
https://www.adverts.ie/other-antiques-collectables/diamond-star-holo-uncorrected-bound-proof-very-rare-not-available-for-sale/14366113


***************************************************************************************************************************************** All Items In My Ads Come From My Own, Personal Collection. Photos And Description Are Of The Exact Item You Will Receive. I Always Try to Take As Many Photos As Possible To Show/Reflect Condition Of The Item. I Would Be Glad To Answer Any Questions Or Concerns You Might Have.
*****************************************************************************************************************************************


For more Rare Books, Cheap Books, Signed Books, First Editions, Uncorrected Bound Proofs, Autographs and Advanced Reading Copies PLEASE SEE MY OTHER ADS
http://www.adverts.ie/search/user-1462668/status_active/type_all


Thanks for looking

Shipping: CollectionPost/CourierTo be arranged
Payment: CashPaypalBank transferTo be arranged
From sellers around the web:
Comments & Offers
Rocco_jr 3 weeks ago
Due to Parcel Motel being closed down, combined postage is now as follows:

Postage up to 1 kg is 6 euro
Tracked postage 1-2 kgs is 9 euro
Tracked Postage 2-5 kgs is 11 euro
Tracked Postage up to 15 kgs is 13 euro
Tracked Postage up to 20 kgs is 16 euro.

See more in our Other Antiques & Collectables category available today

€4.99
€3.99
€85.00
€125.00
€45.00
€11.00
€25.00
€10.00
€8.00
€200.00
€150.00
€350.00
€30.00
€25.00
€15.00
€20.00
€2,600.00
€20.00